Recruit Trashes 1/3 of Big 12 in One Interview

For the most part, I really try to ignore basketball recruiting. Give me the list of guys who will be on campus to start next season, and I’m good. This recruiting story caught my eye though. Archie Goodwin, apparently one of the top uncommitted seniors, recently eliminated Texas, Missouri, and Baylor from his list. In an interview with sportsseer.com Goodwin gave his reasoning for eliminating each school from his list.

Texas – “I did away with Texas simply because I didn’t feel like my relationship was strong enough with Coach Barnes. I can see myself playing for Texas but I didn’t feel comfortable with him as my coach.”

Missouri – “I talked to the assistant coaches all the time. Coach Tim Fuller is one of the coolest assistant coaches I’ve ever known, but as far as the head coach, I really didn’t know his name. I couldn’t tell you the head coach’s name. He talked to me on the phone, but Tim was the one that mostly called.”

Baylor – “Coach Scott Drew is a great guy. I love Coach Drew. They were one of the first schools that were recruiting me. But I didn’t  like that they were an adidas team, but that’s not to say I wouldn’t go to Kansas because Kansas is a great team.  I can look over the adidas thing – I own some adidas stuff. [Goodwin played recent summers with the Arkansas Wings Elite team, which is sponsored by Nike] I didn’t like their colors, either. I don’t like green and gold. That’s ugly …. When you got ugly colors like that, you gotta be Nike. …. Baylor has some ugly shoes, too.”

“On top of that, the one assistant coach I did really know – Coach Morefield, he moved on to doing something in the NBA so once they lost him I didn’t feel too comfortable with any other assistants on their team.”

“And then, I don’t like it that they play a 2-3 zone. I would rather play man[-to-man defense] than zone because you don’t play zone in the NBA. It’s 95% man.”

Hilarious stuff to be sure, but it also provides a little insight of how recruits think. Perhaps Rick Barnes’ inability to ever win in the NCAA tourney finally cost him a recruit. Clearly Frank Haith isn’t well-known to high school kids, just like he wasn’t well-known to anybody outside of Miami before being hired at Missouri and featured in a Yahoo investigation piece.

It’s the Baylor stuff that really hits hard though. The fact is shoe companies rule grassroots basketball, and those grassroots AAU leagues is where a good amount of current college recruiting happens. There is a reason Nike and Adidas invest so much money in AAU teams every year, and their brand loyalty paid off in this case, it would appear.

Just one high school kids opinion, but for sure the thoughts of Archie Goodwin are both hilarious and a little bit insightful into the world of college recruiting.

7 Responses to Recruit Trashes 1/3 of Big 12 in One Interview

  1. GPM says:

    Nice article. I’m not sure if the AAU “mentality” of playing with one’s friends is what helped the Heat situation come together, but that’s interesting it is possibly having an effect on college basketball.

  2. Craig T says:

    I don’t suspect the Baylor colors were a deal breaker, as that was possibly of a throwaway line from Goodwin. But without question it’s clear he valued the shoe company affiliations.

    I think the elite players put the most value on a coach’s success rate of getting players drafted (and picked high) in the NBA, but maybe the next best group of players is also interested in simply getting noticed.

  3. JustinB says:

    Obviously the colors part was a joke for the most part, though those ugly shoes are funny to nobody.

    Actually, I think my favorite part of the whole quote was the 2-3 zone vs. man thing. In general it seems like zone is more beneficial to winning college games (since college guys can’t shoot), but big time recruits probably are realizing more and more that playing zone in college does nothing for your NBA future.

    I guess it really hasn’t hurt Syracuse’s recruiting though.

  4. Craig T says:

    Syracuse is a good example. Sure they play a zone defense in an un-sexy setting (upstate NY in winter), but Boeheim has helped enough guys get to the league that I don’t think high school kids are bothered about the other things.

  5. […] recruit Archie Goodwin recently scratched Baylor off his list in part because they play a 2-3 zone, and he had figured this didn’t bode well for his NBA […]

Leave a Reply

